The Faculty Council represents the faculty of the College and serves as an advisory to the dean on issues of concern to the faculty, such as graduate and undergraduate curricula, programs, evaluation and improvement of instruction, information technology, awards and honors, tenure and promotion, the faculty bylaws and teaching and research grants.

News & Notes

CHS Bylaws Initiative (2018-19)

During the spring semester of the 2017-18 academic year, the Faculty Council of the College of Humanities and Sciences undertook a review of the existing College bylaws. The elected representatives to the Faculty Council collaborated on a revision, which was subsequently submitted to the CHS faculty for a vote during the first week of May, 2018. Though 65% of faculty participating in the vote approved of the revision, this did not meet the 2/3rds threshold required for passage. With respect to those who voted in favor as well as against the measure, the Faculty Council recently agreed to restart the process to secure a much-needed update to the College bylaws.

On September 17th, 2018, the Faculty Council approved a working draft revision to the Bylaws. Though this draft is the version originally submitted for a vote in May, it is but a starting point for discussion on how best to update the existing Bylaws. To supplement your review of the working draft, please consult the executive summary as well as the color-coded, annotated version that compares the working draft to the current bylaws.

The Faculty Council welcomes your feedback and anticipates changes to the working draft before we move to a vote later in the academic year.

Faculty Council Research and Professional Development Grants, 2018-19

The Faculty Council of the College of Humanities and Sciences is now accepting applications for Faculty Council Research and Professional Development Grants. The grant awards are intended to cover costs associated with opportunities that promote the research and teaching missions of the College, while making a positive difference in the field and the classroom. The maximum value of a Research and Professional Development Grant is $1,000, for use prior to June 30, 2019. All full-time faculty in the College of Humanities and Sciences may apply.

Applications are due October 12th by 5 PM, and must be submitted through this online portal

View additional information about the award process and the required application materials.

2018-19 Meeting schedule

August 20 (2018-19 strategic planning retreat)
September 17
October 15
November 19
December 17
January 21
February 18
March 18
April 15
May 20

Minutes

2017-18 Minutes
2018 February Extraordinary Meeting Faculty Council Minutes
2018 February Faculty Council Minutes
2018 January Faculty Council Minutes
2017 December FC Minutes
2017 November FC Minutes
2017 October FC Minutes
2017 September FC Minutes

2015-16 Minutes
2015 December FC Minutes
2015 November FC Minutes
2015 October FC Minutes
2015 September meeting cancelled

2014-15 Minutes
2015 May FC Minutes
2015 April FC Minutes
2015 March FC Minutes
2015 February FC Minutes
2015 January FC Minutes
2014 December FC Minutes
2014 November FC Minutes
2014 October FC Minutes
2014 September FC Minutes

2018-19 Membership

Christopher Burdett, Department of Political Science
clburdett@vcu.edu
CHSFC President

Edward Boone, Department of Statistical Sciences and Operations Research
elboone@vcu.edu
CHSFC Secretary

Joseph Reiner, Department of Physics
jereiner@vcu.edu
CHSFC Parliamentarian

Indika Arachchige, Department of Chemistry
iuarachchige@vcu.edu

Christine Cynn, Department of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
cjcynn@vcu.edu

Daniel Cranston, Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
dcranston@vcu.edu

Charlene Crawley, Interdisciplinary Science Program
cdcrawle@vcu.edu

Nicholas Farrell, Department of Chemistry, GAC Representative
npfarrell@vcu.edu

Robert Gains, Department of Military Science and Leadership
rhgains@vcu.edu

Mignonne Guy, Department of African American Studies
mguy@vcu.edu

Michael Hall, Department of English
mrhall@vcu.edu

Bizhan Khodabandeh, Richard T. Robertson School of Media and Culture
bkhodabandeh@vcu.edu

Gabriela León-Pérez, Department of Sociology
gleonperez@vcu.edu

Andrew Moon, Department of Philosophy
amoon@vcu.edu

Kathryn Murphy-Judy, School of World Studies, LSEE, Technology Representative
kmurphy@vcu.edu

Matthew Scott, Department of Kinesiology and Health Sciences
scottm4@vcu.edu

Robert Sims, School of World Studies
rsims@vcu.edu

Baneshwar Singh, Department of Forensic Science
bsingh@vcu.edu

Ryan Smith, Department of History
rksmith3@vcu.edu

Scott Street, Department of Statistical Sciences and Operations Research, Faculty Senate Representative
wsstreet@vcu.edu

Joseph Topich, Department of Chemistry, UAC Representative
jtopich@vcu.edu

Marcia Winter, Department of Psychology
mawinter@vcu.edu

Maria Carolina Yáber, Department of Biology
mcyaber@vcu.edu

Other members will include:
Adjunct member
Retired faculty member