The Faculty Council represents the faculty of the College and serves as an advisory to the dean on issues of concern to the faculty, such as graduate and undergraduate curricula, programs, evaluation and improvement of instruction, information technology, awards and honors, tenure and promotion, the faculty bylaws and teaching and research grants.

2015-16 Meeting schedule
October 19
November 16
December 14
January 25
February 15
March 21
April 18
May 16

Minutes

2015-16 Minutes
2015 December FC Minutes
2015 November FC Minutes
2015 October FC Minutes
2015 September meeting cancelled

2014-15 Minutes
2015 May FC Minutes
2015 April FC Minutes
2015 March FC Minutes
2015 February FC Minutes
2015 January FC Minutes
2014 December FC Minutes
2014 November FC Minutes
2014 October FC Minutes
2014 September FC Minutes

Membership

Rowena Briones, Richard T. Robertson School of Media and Culture
rlbriones@vcu.edu
President

Michael Fine, Department of Biology
mfine@vcu.edu

Fernando A. Tenjo, Department of Biology
fatenjo@vcu.edu
University Council Rep

Julio Alvarez, Department of Chemistry
jcalvarez2@vcu.edu

Nick Farrell, Department of Chemistry
npfarrell@vcu.edu
Promotion and Tenure Committee

Joseph Topich, Department of Chemistry
jtopich@vcu.edu
Undergraduate Academic Committee, one year term

Joseph Turner, Department of Chemistry
jturner9@vcu.edu

David Golumbia, Department of English
dgolumbia@vcu.edu

Henry Harrison, Department of English
hlharrison@vcu.edu
Faculty Senate Rep, one year term

Sarah Seashols, Department of Forensic Sciences
seashols@vcu.edu

Christine Cynn, Department of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
cjcynn@vcu.edu

Greg Smithers, Department of History
gdsmithers@vcu.edu

Charlene Crawley, Interdisciplinary Science Program
cdcrawle@vcu.edu

Ronald Evans, Department of Kinesiology and Health Sciences
rkevans@vcu.edu
Graduate Academic Committee, one year term

William Hornsby, Kinesiology & Health Sciences
wghornsby@vcu.edu

Kathryn Murphy-Judy, Liberal studies for early and elementary education
kmurphy@vcu.edu

Andrew Bristow, Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
bristowas@vcu.edu
Secretary

Ghidewon Abay-Asmersom, Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
gabayasm@vcu.edu
Technology Committee, one year term

Robert Gains, Department of Military Science and Leadership
rgains@vcu.edu

Mike Valdman, Department of Philosophy
mvaldman@vcu.edu

Denis Demchenko, Department of Physics
ddemchenko@vcu.edu

Jason Arnold, Political Science
jrarnold@vcu.edu

James McCullough, Department of Psychology
jmccull@vcu.edu

Peter Kirkpatrick, School of World Studies
pkirk@vcu.edu
University Council Rep, one year term

Robert Sims, School of World Studies
rsims@vcu.edu

Jesse Goldstein, Sociology
jgoldstein2@vcu.edu

Julie Honnold, Sociology
jhonn@vcu.edu
Graduate Academic Committee
Promotion & Tenure Committee

Edward Boone, Department of Statistical Sciences and Operations Research
elboone@vcu.edu

 

Other members will include:
One tenured faculty member elected by the Council
One untenured faculty, one year term
Term member, one year term
Adjunct member, one year term
Retired faculty member, three year term
Committee on Administration Member, one year term