The Faculty Council represents the faculty of the College and serves as an advisory to the dean on issues of concern to the faculty, such as graduate and undergraduate curricula, programs, evaluation and improvement of instruction, information technology, awards and honors, tenure and promotion, the faculty bylaws and teaching and research grants.

News & Notes

The Faculty Council will host a Town Hall event on Thursday, April 19th, from 1:00 – 2:00 pm in the Globe, Room 1030J to discuss proposed changes to the Bylaws. Faculty Council representatives will discuss the proposed revisions, highlight key changes, and answer questions.

Draft CHS Bylaws revised March 2018

2017-18 Meeting schedule

September 18
October 16
November 20
December 18
January 22
February 19
March 19
April 16
May 21

Minutes

2017-18 Minutes
2018 February Extraordinary Meeting Faculty Council Minutes
2018 February Faculty Council Minutes
2018 January Faculty Council Minutes
2017 December FC Minutes
2017 November FC Minutes
2017 October FC Minutes
2017 September FC Minutes

2015-16 Minutes
2015 December FC Minutes
2015 November FC Minutes
2015 October FC Minutes
2015 September meeting cancelled

2014-15 Minutes
2015 May FC Minutes
2015 April FC Minutes
2015 March FC Minutes
2015 February FC Minutes
2015 January FC Minutes
2014 December FC Minutes
2014 November FC Minutes
2014 October FC Minutes
2014 September FC Minutes

2017-18 Membership

Christopher Burdett, Department of Political Science
clburdett@vcu.edu
CHSFC President

Sarah Seashols-Williams, Department of Forensic Science
sseashols@vcu.edu
CHSFC Secretary

Indika Arachchige, Department of Chemistry
iuarachchige@vcu.edu
CHSFC Parlimentarian

Fernando Tenjo, Department of Biology
fatenjo@vcu.edu
2016-17 CHSFC President

Edward Boone, Department of Statistical Sciences and Operations Research
elboone@vcu.edu

Christine Cynn, Department of Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies
cjcynn@vcu.edu

Daniel Cranston, Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics
dcranston@vcu.edu

Charlene Crawley, Interdisciplinary Science Program
cdcrawle@vcu.edu

Robert Gains, Department of Military Science and Leadership
rhgains@vcu.edu

Jesse Goldstein, Department of Sociology
jgoldstein2@vcu.edu

Mignonne Guy, Department of African American Studies
mguy@vcu.edu

Michael Hall, Department of English
mrhall@vcu.edu

Natasha Long, Robertson School of Media and Culture
longnj@vcu.edu

Kathryn Murphy-Judy, School of World Studies, LSEE, Technology Representative
kmurphy@vcu.edu

Joseph Reiner, Department of Physics
jereiner@vcu.edu

Matthew Scott, Department of Kinesiology and Health Sciences
scottm4@vcu.edu

Greg Smithers, Department of History
gdsmithers@vcu.edu

Michael Southam-Gerow, Department of Mathematics and Applied Mathematics, GAC Representative
masouthamger@vcu.edu

Scott Street, Department of Statistical Sciences and Operations Research, Faculty Senate Representative
wsstreet@vcu.edu

Joseph Topich, Department of Chemistry, UAC Representative
jtopich@vcu.edu

Michael Valdman, Department of Philosophy
mvaldman@vcu.edu

Marcia Winter, Department of Psychology
mawinter@vcu.edu

Other members will include:
Adjunct member
Retired faculty member