Jennifer Johnson receiving award from Dean Fuentes

College of Humanities and Sciences Honors Faculty, Staff, and Retirees

The College of Humanities and Sciences recently held its Faculty and Staff Awards and Retirees breakfast honoring members of the faculty, staff, and retirees for their service to the college and VCU as a whole. Nominees were selected to have their work recognized by their departments and department heads, who sent glowing recommendations to the dean’s office describing the accomplishments and notable qualities of their nominees.  

Faculty members from many different disciplines within the college were acknowledged for their excellence in scholarship, lecturing, teaching, advising, and mentoring. University staff were honored for their customer service, leadership, dedication, and impact on the college. Faye Belgrave and Albert Farrell were also honored by the university for their prominence with national or international recognition. Both faculty and staff  members who retired over the last year were presented with engraved clocks, the traditional gift for retirees which represents their years of service.

The following members of our faculty and staff were recognized at the ceremony:  

Distinguished Faculty Awards:

  • Elske vP Smith Lecturer: Judyth Twigg (POLI)
  • Distinguished Teaching (Math/Science): Linda Zyzniewski (PSYC)
  • Distinguished Teaching (Humanities/Social Science): William Newmann (POLI)
  • Distinguished Scholar: Karen Rader (HIST)
  • Distinguished Service: Christopher Saladino (POLI)
  • Distinguished Advising: Lyndsay Durham (FRSC)
  • Excellence in Scholarship (Math/Science): Indika Arachchige (CHEM)
  • Excellence in Scholarship (Humanities/Social Science): Tressie Cottom (SOCY)
  • Distinguished Mentoring: Wendy Kliewer (PSYC)
  • Distinguished Adjunct (Math/Science): Joshua Kruger (FRSC)
  • Distinguished Adjunct (Social Science): Eric King (POLI)

Staff Awards:

  • Customer Service: Corey Martin (PSYC)
  • Leadership: Andrea Moreau (CHEM)
  • Impact: John Hutton (Dean’s Office)
  • Dedication: Stephanie Millican (BIOL)


  • Dorothy Booker (Dean’s Office)
  • Rose Vaughan-Bookman (CHEM)
  • James McCullough (PSYC)
  • L. Meredith Moses (CHEM)
  • Hassan Sedaghat (MATH)
  • Nicholas Sharp (ENGL)
  • Everett Worthington (PSYC)

University Honorees:

  • University Professor: Faye Belgrave (PSYC)
  • Commonwealth Professor: Albert Farrell (PSYC)

View a gallery of pictures from the event here.

Written by Megan Schiffres.