Catalyst and Seed Awards

College Announces Catalyst Award Winners

The College is pleased to announce the recipients of the inaugural Catalyst Awards. This new program was envisioned by Dean Fuentes and funded by President Rao to enhance faculty scholarship by providing seed funding of up to $20,000 to facilitate projects in all disciplines in the College. It is an annual funding opportunity that is complemented by a Spring solicitation for Seed awards, which are aimed at scholarly projects of a smaller scope. These are part of a broader program aimed at building research and scholarship in the College.

Over 30 proposals were submitted and reviewed by subject experts in the College. A separate faculty review panel with representation from across the College made funding recommendations based on the subject expert reviews. After reviewing all the reviews and recommendations, the Dean’s office chose the following five proposals for funding:

Indika Arachchige, Chemistry
Low-Dimensional SiSn Alloys for Low-Cost and High-Efficiency Solar Cells

Rima Franklin, Biology
Impact of Urbanization on the Prevalence and Diversity of Antibiotic Resistance Bacteria in the James River

George Munro, History
Kirovsk: From GULag to Thriving City

Christopher Stevenson, Anthropology
The Hydration Dating of Ancient Obsidian Artifacts by Laser Induced Breakdown Spectroscopy (LIBS)

Dace Svikis, Psychology
Relapse Prevention: Setting the stage for a randomized clinical trial of a computer-delivered intervention (CBT4CBT) in a residential sample of women with substance use disorders (SUDs)

We appreciate all the faculty that participated in the Catalyst Awards program and look forward to the exciting scholarship that will come from these five funded projects.