Black History in the Making Awards speaker

Black History in the Making Awards 2018

On Wednesday, February 28, the Department of African American Studies hosted its annual Black History in the Making award ceremony, honoring 46 students from departments and programs across VCU.

The Black History in the Making award was founded in 1983 by Dr. Daryl Dance, then the coordinator of the African American Studies program. The award is organized by the Department of African American Studies, and recipients are selected by their departments or programs. The selection process takes place in January and February, with the ceremony scheduled to coincide with Black History Month in February. Recipients are typically chosen based on criteria such as academic excellence, high engagement in academic and extracurricular activities, a commitment to helping others, and a great degree of promise in their fields. The award honors both undergraduate and graduate/professional students from the Monroe Park and MCV campuses.

This year, 46 recipients were selected, a record number in recorded history. The ceremony was presented in the Depot to a full audience, as recipients were supported by family, friends, and faculty. Music was provided by Marc Cheatham of The Cheats Movement. African American Studies Assistant Professor Chioke I’Anson, PhD was master of ceremonies, and the awards were presented by faculty from the participating departments and programs, who spoke to the profound impression the recipients have made at VCU.

Jan Shea, who attended with the School of Education to support recipient Troy Carter, called the ceremony “the most joyful and enthusiastic” that she’d seen. “Being witness to the impact the honorees are making in the Richmond community and beyond was inspiring,” she said. “The breadth and scope of their work is so diverse and far reaching. I can’t help but think – what will these men and women accomplish next? They’re going places!”

The 2018 Black History in the Making Recipients:

Renee Adonteng (Mathematics and Applied Mathematics)
Lois Akinola (Chemistry)
Fadel Allassan (Political Science)
Chino Amobi (Graphic Design)
Johannes James Barfield (Photography and Film)
Hilton Bennett (da Vinci Center)
Sophia Booker (School of Social Work—Bachelor of Social Work)
Asia Bracey (Forensic Science)
Ayana Braxton (VCU Globe)
Kevin Britton (Political Science)
Troy Carter (School of Education)
Saleana Copeland (Forensic Science)
Xenia Cornick (School of Social Work—Master of Social Work)
Crystal Douglas (Robertson School—Advertising)
Mona Elrayah (Wilder School—Master of Public Administration)
Ashley Forney (Chemistry)
Joy Gilchrist (Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies)
Brianna Green (Interdisciplinary Studies)
Corey Herrington (Mathematics and Applied Mathematics)
Antwan Hoy (Wilder School—Urban and Regional Studies)
Chelsea Jackson (Robertson School—Journalism)
Taylor Jenkins (Gender, Sexuality and Women’s Studies)
Casey Johnson (African American Studies)
Taleya Johnson (Art Foundation)
Courtney Jones (History—recipient of the History Department’s W.E.B. Du Bois Award)
Ariel Lawrence (English)
Marteka McGuire (Patient Counseling)
Destiny Moore (Robertson School—Public Relations)
Destinee Moragne (da Vinci Center)
Abdulhamid Nur (Health Administration)
Jada Perez (English)
Christian Renner-Thomas (Craft and Material Studies)
DeAudrea Sha Rich (Graphic Design)
Tennisha Riley (Psychology)
Akea Robinson (Psychology)
Michael Scott (Wilder School—Criminal Justice)
Jada Smith (Wilder School—Homeland Security and Emergency Preparedness)
Reyna Smith (VCU Globe)
Ashley Spratley (School of Social Work—Master of Social Work)
Reginald Lamont Stroble (School of Education—Educational Leadership)
Jelani Taylor (Dance and Choreography)
Alicia Thompson (School of Social Work—Master of Social Work)
Camerun Washington (Genetic Counseling)
Paris Watson (Chemistry)
Diamond Welton-Boxley (Mathematics and Applied Mathematics)
Mariah Williams (Wilder School—Urban and Regional Studies)